The Atlantic Ocean Research Alliance (AORA) between Canada, the EU and the US was launched by the signatories of the Galway Statement on Atlantic Ocean Cooperation 2013. The AORA intend to advance the shared vision of an Atlantic Ocean that is healthy, resilient, safe, productive, understood and treasured so as to promote the well-being, prosperity and security of the present and future generations.  The AORA intend to advance this agenda:

  • by taking stock of and utilising existing bilateral science and technology cooperation and multilateral cooperation frameworks including those related to ocean observation, and ocean literacy initiatives;
  • recommending priorities for future cooperation and, where possible,
  • coordinating the planning and programming of relevant activities in these areas including promoting researcher mobility.

To date the AORA have identified four priority cooperation areas as follows (in no particular order):

  • Ecosystem Approach to Ocean Health & Stressors
  • Seabed Mapping
  • Aquaculture
  • Ocean Literacy

The AORA is governed by a Trilateral Galway Statement Implementation Committee made up of 3 Co-Chairs from the bodies mandated by each jurisdiction to implement the Galway Statement.  The 3 Co-Chairs are Trevor Swerdfager, Senior Assistant Deputy Minister, Fisheries and Oceans Canada, John Bell Director Bioeconomy, European Commission DG Research & Innovation, and Craig McLean, Assistant Administrator, Oceanic and Atmospheric Research, US National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration.

The AORA-CSA is integral to the Atlantic Ocean Research Alliance as it supports it to achieve the aims and goals of the Galway Statement.


The following simplified schematic shows how the Trilateral Galway Implementation Committee implements and guides the AORA.